Westport Credit Union

Westport Credit Union is a values-based financial co-operative serving the needs of over 12,000 members. We have 2 sub-offices in Newport & Louisburgh. As the third largest credit union in Mayo, we use over €97 million in assets to help improve the financial well-being of our members while at the same time helping to develop healthy and sustainable communities.

When Westport Credit Union was formed in 1964, we didn’t specifically set out to be in the social change business. This role as a change agent came about naturally as a result of our co-operative business model.

As a financial co-operative, we exist for the sole benefit of our members and their communities and, as a result, we act in their best interest. This often means leading from the front. Even our founding members pushed the envelope of what was common practice at the time.

Irish credit unions were established in the 1950’s at a time when credit was not readily available to ordinary people. A number of Individuals including Nora Herlihy, Sean Forde and Seamus MacEoin came together to find a solution to this problem and came to the conclusion that the Credit Union was the answer to this problem. The first Irish Credit Union was founded in 1958 and Westport Credit Union was set up in September 1964 and had its first business session on the 3rd October that same year. In 2018, we have achieved assets of over €97 million with our ever growing 12,000 members.

  • TUE – FRI
  • 10:00am-5:00pm
  • SAT
  • 10:00am-2:00pm



Rate us and Write a Review

Your Rating for this listing


Your review is recommended to be at least 140 characters long

Your request has been submitted successfully.

Translate »